Just add one twist that distinguishes it from other books. Can’t wait to buy the book. Since its a school project, do I need to publish it and have an editor and everything, from what I know, I can just make my book by myself completely and print it out because its nothing fancy and I don’t plan on having it sold on markets and things. I now collaborate with my writer friend in a wonderful equal partnership where we plan books from the start together and share the money we make. I am sure–without a doubt–your content will be helpful to a lot of writers. Hi LaTanya, great, glad you liked it! Writing a children's book does seem like it could be tricky. To ensure that your idea is solid, go through this checklist: If you're struggling to come up with a book idea, it never hurts to recall what you liked to read at their age. You have stressed how important an illustrator is and while I am not a professional illustrator I am an artist and really want to illustrate the book myself with a unique multi media technique. I am happy for great guide I will start my children book soon thank. What is the general layout? Looks like the next step after reading this is to take the course! Thank you for this great info that makes me excited to get started. Getting feedback on your story is definitely something I would recommend. Thank you for your kind words and for checking it out, Emma! Absolutely and glad to have helped. Thanks so much for your kind words! So helpful for me. If the story will not make sense, then that word or phrase or sentence gets a reprieve (at least in this round of editing!). She’ll give me a book over and over and over to reread to her and quickly flip the book to her favorite pages. Q: How many submissions will an agent or publisher get in a year? Middle grade books are for kids who want something a little more advanced in terms of both prose and story. Eevi, this is awesome! would be greatly valued! And revising is fine! Thank you for your kind words, @yna