‘How do you get that?’ And I showed him how to do that. McGuinn was gracious about sharing the guitar limelight, as happy to learn as to teach. I studied with [seasoned folk musician and Old Town founder] Frank Hamilton. James Roger McGuinn / m ə ˈ ɡ w ɪ n / (born James Joseph McGuinn III; July 13, 1942) is an American musician. He’d never heard it before. We said, ‘Hey that sounds pretty good!’ So we used more of it and we got that sound accidentally. It was the Byrds, not Dylan, who played on youth-oriented pop music TV shows like Shindig and Hullabaloo. Soon enough, though, San Francisco bands like Jefferson Airplane and Quicksilver Messenger service would show us what a real psychedelic drug song sounds like. That much is clear from the first notes of the chiming, devastatingly infectious guitar hook McGuinn crafted as the intro to the Byrds’ interpretation of the song. Was it ironic? A joke, right? George Harrison was quick to acknowledge McGuinn’s influence on his own playing, publicly admitting that his Beatles composition If I Needed Someone had been inspired by McGuinn’s guitar work on the Byrds’ recording of The Bells of Rhymney. Re: Problem With McGuinn E1 Compressor Circuit by ( cjj ) » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:18 pm If the chip is actually in a socket, as it appears to be in the picture, try carefully unplugging it … “I’m a two-finger kind of player,” he said. "We were more of an Appalachian traditional folk-inspired and English/Irish folk music-inspired band. This pedal is also the right choice for modern Country Rock. 492 of 1000 made for the Roger McGuinn Ltd release 370/12. Originally, though, I think the reason why we started using compression wasn’t for the sustain. Because of the flat and wide winding, the spool-constant is larger, compared to a normal Strat pickup. McGuinn and White’s dual guitar work garnered some critical recognition, but the commercial success of the Byrds’ early days had become a thing of the past. “Mostly, I played with the thumb